Month: October 2013

  •  

    There are days when I really miss you.

     

    I remember things.

    Our conversations;

    your safe hugs;

    how much love I felt for you.

     

    And, ya Allah, it kills me everytime.

     

  • 1819_54143318160_89_n
    My beautiful sister welcomed her 40th year this

    week as a Hajjah, in the most wondrous of cities.

     

    When I was younger I always thought I wanted

    to be like Kakna, at least as far as character goes.

     

    13 years and a beaten cancer later, that desire has

    not changed. If anything, it is stronger than ever.

     

    Have you met my sister and her amazing spirit?

    If you are lucky enough to know her, then you will

    also know that this fighter only gets better with age.

     

    To one of the strongest women in my life.

    Te amo.

     

  • Driving up at 4am tomorrow to

    Kedah for the kids of Malaysia.

     

    InsyaAllah this trip will be a

    fruitful one. Keep us safe on

    the road, please, thank You.

     

    /edit:

    IMG_20131006_000736

    24 hours of no sleep and 9 hours on the road

    later, I now go to sleep with a smile on my face

    at having glimpsed into the future of this country.

     

    These kids touched my heart today.

    I have so much respect for teachers, and

    even more for those under Teach for Malaysia.

     

    This is, truly, the noblest of professions.

     

    Best of all, on the way home tonight, Dad texted:

    “Mama’s biopsy results are out. It’s benign.”

     

    Today was amazing, Alhamdulillah.

     

  • Mama goes into surgery tomorrow

    to remove a strange lump. I am praying,

    praying, praying for a positive diagnosis.

     

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories