Month: August 2013

  •  

    Going to bed with Yasmin Mogahed’s

    spirited accounts in thought. I feel light.

     

    And to an old friend entering a new

    chapter of life today, may Allah be

    with you. Satu lafaz, Mubeen.

     

    Bismillah.

     

  •  

    I haven’t smiled that wide in a long time.

    Alhamdulillah. I’m good. I’m okay.

     

  •  

    I would, at some point in my short

    existence, want to witness someone 

    I love on the happiest day of his life.

     

    How it makes me feel is not irrelevant.

    But it seems like the right thing to do.

     

    After this, insyaAllah, I can disappear. 

    I don’t owe him anything anymore.

     

    So I clicked ‘yes.’

     

  •  

    What a wonderful way to welcome Raya eve.

    This was visible from where we were, at

    Lake Club, and all the way back in Melawati.

     

    Spending a night in with my parents.

    We welcomed takbir Raya with quiet

    appreciation. It holds a lot more meaning

    for me this year, especially when I think

    about how lonely this period was in 2012.

     

    I cannot thank You enough for this year.

    For showing me the truth behind those

    whose characters I couldn’t see before.

    For teaching me patience of the heart,

    of the mind. For unrelenting belief.

     

    For reminding me what is good for my soul.

     

    You have continuously blessed me, most of

    all, with a loving family. I must have done

    something right to deserve all of them.

     

    I have not lost faith in You.

     

    Salam Raya to all my loved ones. 

    Maaf zahir dan batin.

     

  •  

    CheNa giving free haircuts to the

    homeless at Soup Kitchen Wednesdays.

     

    People are different during Ramadhan.

    Granted, some things we do do not last

    throughout the year, but knowing this

    happens at least 30 days out of 365 is

    still a sign of heartwarming goodwill.

     

    God bless you, CheNa.

    xx

     

    The family came over today to merendang.

    Mishaps abounded but dude, seriously,

    I wouldn’t have wanted it any other way. 

     

    Volunteered to be Rumah Merendang for

    many, many years to come, God willing.

     

    Today was wonderful pleased

    xx

     

    To top it all off? Terawih outside under 

    sky tonight with Kakna and The Niece.

    After the first four Ize turned to me

    and said, “Maksu. There’s a butterfly

    on your head.” Freaked out at all things

    creepy crawly/flying I swatted it away

    and it flitted to the top of Izelea’s head.

     

    Throughout the rest of terawih the little

    dude kept flying back and forth between

    the two of us. We either smelled really 

    good or had some sort of magnetic

    moth-attracting scent emanating

    from our telekungs, but it was nice

    company to have during prayers. 

     

    Little signs.

     

    We all hugged a beat longer tonight. 

     

    Thank You for this month.

     

  •  

    The weekend before Raya is often spent,

    as far back as I can remember, merendang.

    That means more time with Mum pleased

     

    This year is a far cry from my last Raya

    when the family was abroad with Abang. 

     

    This year, we are all healthy and safe.

    This year, we are all together again.

     

    Thank You.

     

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories